Harry Chapin 2007 Media Awards (formerly the World Hunger Media Awards)

Harry Chapin 2007 Media Awards, formerly the World Hunger Media Awards, were created in 1982 to encourage the media to "tell the story of hunger and poverty."

The Media Awards honor print and electronic media for their outstanding coverage that positively impacts hunger, poverty and self-reliance. The Media Awards also honor work that focuses on the causes of hunger and poverty and the forces creating self-reliance. This includes work on economic inequality and insecurity, unemployment, homelessness, domestic and international policies and their reform, community empowerment, sustainable development, food production, agriculture, nutrition and the struggle for land.

The Awards cover six media categories:

* Newspaper
* Magazines
* Broadcast
* Radio
* Photojournalism
* Books

Criteria for the Harry Chapin Media Awards Include:

* The impact of the work on its audience and on its awareness of the problem
* The quality of the writing, visuals, and presentation
* Whether the work promotes the empowerment of people
* Whether the work is a new idea or an important restatement of the old
* Whether the work reaches a broad audience and/or reaches its targeted audience
* Whether the work is solution oriented and informative

All entries for the 2007 Harry Chapin Media Awards must have appeared in the media between January 1 and December 31, 2007. International entries must be submitted in English. Unpublished manuscripts or photographs are not eligible. Television, film, and radio must have been broadcast or narrow-cast. Please specify the date that the entry was published or broadcast on the enclosed application form.

Application fees:

One Entry-- $25.00 Two Entries-- $40.00 Three to Five Entries-- $50.00

All submissions to the 2007 Harry Chapin Media Awards must be received no later than February 2, 2008.