WWSF Prize for women’s creativity in rural life 2007

Deadline for submissions is 31 March 2007
WWSF Prize for women’s creativity in rural life 2007

Dear Friends,

WWSF Women’s World Summit Foundation cordially invites you to submit nominations for the 13th annual Prize for Women’s creativity in Rural Life award, honoring creative and courageous women and women’s organizations working to improve the quality of life in rural communities around the world. Since its inception in 1994, 317 Laureates have been honored for their creativity with a cash donation of US$ 500.- each and as of 2006, with a donation of US$ 3000.- for established organizations in Africa. All Laureates and profiles are posted on our web site www.woman.ch

Given your experience, interest and perspective with regard to issues of development, human rights, micro-credit, peace building and empowerment of women, we greatly appreciate your participation and thank you in advance for sending us your candidates. 15 to 20 prize winners will again be selected in 2007, and several of them will be invited to Geneva to personally present their work at an award ceremony.

Your nomination, following the guidelines attached, should arrive by 31 March 2007 latest. We wish you a most successful New Year and look forward to hearing from you.

Elly Pradervand and Team
WWSF Women’s World Summit Foundation
Fondation Sommet Mondial des Femmes
Fundación Cumbre Mundial de la Mujer
11 Avenue de la Paix  1202 Geneva  Switzerland

Prize for women’s creativity in rural life
Next prize awards in 2007
Awarded since 1994 by WWSF Women's World Summit Foundation - an international, non-profit NGO serving the
implementation of women’s and children’s rights - the Prize ($500 per laureate et $ 3000 for African women’s
organisations) honors women and women's groups around the world exhibiting exceptional creativity, courage
and commitment for the improvement of the quality of life in rural communities (317 prizes awarded so far). The
Prize aims to draw international attention to laureates' contributions to sustainable development, household food
security and peace, thus generating recognition and support for their projects. While rural women are vital in
providing examples of sound practice in their communities, they still do not have full access to tools needed for
development, such as education, credit, land rights and participation in decision making. By highlighting and
awarding creative development models, innovations and experiences enhancing the quality of rural life, WWSF
participates in addressing the eradication of rural poverty, gender mainstreaming and women’s empowerment.

• Nominees should be women and women’s groups currently active in rural life whose efforts have not yet been
acknowledged by other awards. They may not nominate themselves.
• The nominating organisation or individual must have direct experience of the nominee's work. The nominator
may not nominate a family member, be a member of the nominated organisation, nor can an organisation
nominate its senior officer (i.e. founder, president etc.). No more than 3 nominees may be presented by the
same person/organization in the same year. The nominator commits to organise an award ceremony if the
candidate is selected for the Prize and invite the media.

Nominations must include the following items:
 Original signed letter of nomination indicating how the nominator knows the nominee and for how long.
 Biographical data on the nominee (full name, age, education, place of work, background) and a detailed history
of the nominee's creative project (written by the nominator) including her motivation, innovative aspects, any
obstacles overcome, and the impact in the community. Nominations must specify whether the nominee has
received or is currently being nominated for other awards.
 Two original and signed endorsement letters from organisations or individuals other than the nominator and, if
possible, additional supporting materials such as newspaper articles or publications.
 A few labeled photographs clearly showing the nominee(s) for possible publication.

The long-term impact of the Prize depends on the integrity of the nominators and the quality of their nominations.
The Prize is an award for successful accomplishments rather than a fund for future projects. The nominee's history
(2-3 pages) should demonstrate the creativity, courage and sometimes sacrifice in her efforts at the grass roots to
improve life in rural communities. Descriptions should be as specific as possible.
Any of the following elements should be emphasized:
* Exceptional courage and perseverance in improving rural life
* Creativity in the approach
* Preservation of and respect for the environment
* Continuing impact on the community

Laureates are selected by an international Jury composed of WWSF Board of Directors; are announced officially on
1 September and celebrated on 15 October - World Rural Women's Day - at a special award ceremony in Geneva.
Several prize winners are invited to attend the celebration personally. WWSF has a commitment to award annually
15-20 creative rural women and women's groups around the world.
To read about the laureates, visit our web site

WWSF Women’s World Summit Foundation, 11 Avenue de la Paix, 1202 Geneva, Switzerland
E-mail: wrwd@wwsf.ch