Coral Reef Conservation Grant Program

An opportunity for funding of international coral reef projects is now available through the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Coral Reef Conservation Grant Program.

The Guidelines provide broad eligibility criteria for coral reef conservation activities, and also created the following six program categories under the Program for awarding financial assistance:

1) State and Territory Coral Reef Management;

2) State and Territory Coral Reef Ecosystem Monitoring;

3) Coral Reef Ecosystem Research;

4) General Coral Reef Conservation;

5) Projects to Improve or Amend Coral Reef Fishery Management

Plans; and,

6) International Coral Reef Conservation.

Eligible applicants include all international, governmental (except U.S. federal agencies), and non-governmental organizations. For specific country eligibility per category, please refer to individual category descriptions in Section V. The proposed work must be conducted at a non-U.S. site.

Eligible countries are defined as follows:

Ø The Wider Caribbean includes the 37 States and territories that border the marine environment of the Gulf of Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the areas of the Atlantic Ocean adjacent thereto, and Brazil and Bermuda, but excluding areas under U.S. jurisdiction.

Ø The South Pacific Region includes South Pacific Regional Environment Program’s 19 Pacific island countries and territories, including the Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Palau, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands, but excluding U.S. territories and four developed country members.

Ø The Southeast Asia Region includes Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Ø The Western Indian Ocean Region includes Comoros, France (La Reunion), Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, the United Republic of Tanzania, and South Africa.

Ø The Red Sea Region includes five member countries of the Regional Organization for the Conservation of the Environment of the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden (PERSGA): Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.

Ø Eligibility criteria are also contingent upon whether activities undertaken with respect to the pre- and final application would be consistent with any applicable conditions or restrictions imposed by the U.S. government.

For further information about the international coral grants, please write to: or call 301-713-3078 x218

Pre-applications for funding are DUE by 11:59 p.m., U.S. Eastern Time, on Monday, November 13, 2006,

Final applications must be received by NOAA by 11:59 p.m. U.S. Eastern Time, on Friday, March 2, 2007.